Random rumblings in the Here and Now…

12 minutesb

It so happens I am a “Noct”! Actually the word is a nocturnal but it sounds more modern-high-techie said as so. I’m not sure if “Noct” is actually a word. But hey! I always have been, a Noct-I become active at night rather than going to bed. For this I am blaming my design school days where I would “sleep tomorrow and wake up tomorrow”.

This is not uncommon. What am up to is ..errm… not that it is not important. Well lets see

I just stumbled on an interesting DIY website, and there is this link from a online group I belong to that has got me glued to my screen. The wrist-watch search I have been doing for a long while, it is now that I am getting some good hits, and the mosquitoes are on a blood-thirsty frenzy.

Wait…. and there is this radio stationed that I have stumbled on as I started this which is playing some classic African rhumba music. The kind of music that is 12 minutes long. Twelve minutes of soothing , leg thumping and finger snapping from the perfect marriage of guitar strings ad mellow sounds and a bass line so perfect. I feel like I am swimming. 12 whole minutes of nothingness that is not boredom. 12 minutes of music in a language that is unknown to me but I don’t care. The 12 minutes makes me wonder what could I do in the 12 minutes that the song is playing .

Such is the fire to the “Noct” behaviour. More like the wood that keeps a fire at the camp-fire alive and kicking….I digress.

If I had only 12 minutes left what would I do with it? Think of the pretty faces that I missed the chance chat up rather than smile and admire from far? Remember the embarrassing stuff I have done in my yesteryears? Weed out my phone book? Catch up with this book that is now overdue…truthfully am afraid to finish reading it. Could this be that I am delaying gratification? Why did I get internet to the house…it is not helping!?

Well three songs have passed. 3 sets of 12 minutes thinking with my fingers on the keyboard. What did I do with the 12 minutes? I did this; what is here. Words of admitting my nocturnal tendencies.

I am still breathing. My senses still good and for this I give Thanks. Another 12 minute track is about to end, it is coming to the part where you can’t hold it and have to get up and dance.

Enjoy your sets of 12 minutes.

Image courtesy of http://www.12minuteathlete.com/

In response to The Daily Post’s Daily Prompt: Write Here, Write Now

One thought on “Random rumblings in the Here and Now…

Leave a Reply

